• تصفية - فلترة
  • الوقت
  • عرض
إلغاء تحديد الكل
مشاركات جديدة

• Guidance… the Divine Gift

Question

As-salaamu `alaykum,

I am a student currently pursuing my bachelors degree. For my Islamic Studies assignment I chose the topic ‘hidayah because I consider it something very rare these days and I believe it plays a very essential part in preserving and practicing Islam.

I was hoping to get some information regarding its definition, its meaning and importance, and how one may get or lose hidayah.

Thank you.

Topic

Heart & Soul

Name of Counselor
    Ahmed Sa'd

Answer

Salaam Dearest Uzair,

Please let me congratulate you for this good question that reflects deep insight and true desire of seeking knowledge. May Allah purify our hearts from heedlessness and grant us hidayah, amen!

First of all, the Arabic word ‘hidayah’ means guidance. The verb ‘yahdi’ means 'to grant guidance'. Of course, it is Allah who grants guidance to people, thus hidayah is a God-given gift, which He places in the heart of whomever He wants to give guidance.

Almighty Allah says in Surah 2, verse 73, what means:
    *{Lo! the guidance is Allah's guidance.}*

Hidayah is mentioned in so many places in the Qur'an and the hadith. It is in fact the merit that elevates Man and makes him distinguished from animals. Thus, the Qur'an describes those who lack guidance and those who are cut from their Lord as being degraded to the level of animals in the sense that they will be looking only for fulfilling the lusts and needs of the flesh. Hidayah is always associated with the spiritual elevation a person feels when Almighty Allah helps him or her offer a good deed or find a way to his/her problems.